Did you know that there are other sources of dairy than just cheese and milk?!
I think that one of the hardest parts about transitioning to a vegan diet is that dairy is found in so many foods. In addition, dairy isn’t always labeled as that. It can be referred to by many other names.
Let’s start with the basics. Dairy from cows or goats (yes, goats!) is used to make cheese, ice cream, whey, yogurt, Greek yogurt, milk, ghee, cream cheese, cottage cheese, butter, milk chocolate, kefir, and creamer. It can also be found in processed foods such as crackers, candies, vitamins and medication.
One of the best ways to check to see if a food is dairy free is to read the ingredient list. Stay away from the list above as well as the following: casein, lactose, galactose, rennet, quark, lactate, cream, nisin preparation, recaldent, natural flavors.
The best way to avoid dairy all together is to stick to a whole food plant based diet and to avoid packaged foods. You can also look for the “Vegan” label when buying packaged items.
I hope that helps a little bit. If you need even more help transitioning to a dairy free life, please read the following blog posts: How to Make “Cheese” without the Dairy and It’s easy to give up dairy with these awesome alternatives! Also, feel free to contact me anytime!