Sometimes the hardest part about switching to a vegan diet, is the surprising amount of foods that contain animal products (that you would never even think of!). Most people know that giving up animal products means giving up meat, dairy, eggs, fish and honey. But did you know that switching to a vegan diet may mean that you need to find a vegan wine or beer alternative? Or that your gummy vitamins could be made from insects?!
Here are some ingredients that are made from animals and which foods you may possibly find them in:
*Bread products may contain L-cysteine, which often comes from feathers, to keep them soft.
*Gelatin is made from the connective tissue of pigs and cows. It is used in Jello, Gummies, and many candies.
*Refined sugar, which is found in a plethora of sweet foods, was possibly lightened with bone char, derived from the bones of cattle.
*Isinglass, comes from fish bladders, and is often used in the making of beer and wine.
*Shellac, an insect-based product, is sometimes used to wax fresh produce or in candy.
*Deep fried foods and fresh pasta often contain eggs.
*Whey, casein, lactose are all derived from dairy and can be found in many packaged foods and protein drinks (dairy can also be found in vitamins and pain medications).
*Cochineal, or carmine, is red food coloring that is made from insects (although we are discussing food, this one is often found in cosmetics).
*Some food additives are also derived from animals. These include; E120, E322, E422, E471, E542, E631, E901, E904.
The easiest way to avoid the use of animals for your food is to stick to a whole food plant based diet. However, if you want to purchase foods that have been processed, please look for “Vegan” on the label and make sure to ALWAYS read the ingredients.
And of course, I am always here to help you! Contact me anytime ❤
*This information can be found in the book Vegan Recipes and Preparation by Saskia Fraser